Fiction Contemporary Fiction Books

Christmas Island: Escape to a winter wonderland in Norway with this cosy, heartwarming romance novel!

Cosy up in front of a fire and discover Christmas the Norwegian way…full of romance, cosy traditions and hygge!In the bleak midwinter…A really frosty wind is making Holly’s life absolutely miserableAfter all the years of hard work it took Londoner Holly Greene to become a doctor, now it could all be taken away and she only has herself to blame. She’s retreating to her brother’s rustic home on an island off the coast of Norway to lick her wounds. Only, it’s the middle of winter and icy slush plus endless darkness isn’t exactly the cheery, festive getaway she had imagined.Nearly stumbling off the edge of a cliff in the dark, Holly is saved by Frøy, a yellow-eyed cat of fearsome but fluffy proportions, and his owner – grouchy, bearded recluse, Tor. Tor has his own problems to face but the inexplicable desire to leave a bag of freshly baked gingerbread men on Holly’s doorstep is seriously getting in the way of his hermit routine.Call it kindness, call it Christmas, but Holly’s arrival means midwinter has never looked less bleak.Readers LOVE this book:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'The perfect Christmassy escape!' – Laura, Amazon Reviewer⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A beautiful and relaxing read, full of Christmassy togetherness. I really recommend it' – Roberta Reads⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Definitely a book to cosy up with on an English cold damp day… I was sorry when it ended' Amazon Reviewer

The Time Machine (Penguin Student Editions)

"I've had a most amazing time...." So begins the Time Traveller's astonishing firsthand account of his journey 800,000 years beyond his own era - and the story that launched H.G. Wells's successful career and earned him his reputation as the father of science fiction. With a speculative leap that still fires the imagination, Wells sends his brave explorer to face a future burdened with our greatest hopes...and our darkest fears. A pull of the Time Machine's lever propels him to the age of a slowly dying Earth.

Swept Away

The residents of Larkford are having an eventful evening! A feel-good short story for fans of Katie Fforde, Gervaise Phinn and Milly Johnson.Swept Away is a short story based around a large country medical practice in Larkford that also features in Penny Parkes' novels Out of Practice and the forthcoming Practice Makes Perfect (June 2017). The Surgery at Larkford proves to be a hotbed of rivalry, resentment and romance - and that's just the doctors. Think James Herriot meets House. Married mum of two and successful GP Holly Graham moved to Larkford hoping to find the peaceful life she craved. Instead she found chaos and intrigue, but also a tight-knit community full of wonderful characters who helped her through difficult times. Praise for Penny Parkes:'Delightfully warm' Jo Thomas'A pure delight from start to finish' Julie Cohen

The Apple Orchard: A heart-warming short story to curl up with

'Romantic and utterly heartwarming' Jenny Colgan on How To Find Love in a BookshopIn the charming town of Peasebrook, there's a place for everyone. War vet Joe has made new friends and a new home for himself here, overlooking a beautiful apple orchard. But when tragedy strikes and Joe is left out in the cold, it will bring them all together in entirely unexpected ways . . . The Apple Orchard is a truly feel-good short story about friendship and kindness and includes an extract of Veronica's upcoming novel The Forever House. It's the perfect introduction to Veronica's stories - a very short sweet tale to enjoy with a cup of tea and a piece of cake!

The Perfect Escape: Romantic short stories to relax with

A free collection of short stories from some of the top names in women’s fiction today. Featuring irresistible tales of love, friendship, betrayal and passion, from Claudia Carroll, Miranda Dickinson, Julia Williams and many others, The PERFECT ESCAPE is the must-have collection of the year.Each short story is followed by exclusive extracts of each of the authors upcoming titles.Everyone’s against Claire marrying Barry in Don’t Marry Barry. Claire is determined to prove them wrong. If only she could get a significant ex out of her head …Four for Home is the moving story of Jim, left by the love of his life to bring up his three young daughters …My Midsummer Miracle is the story of Lizzie, who is penniless and lonely. Before she died, Lizzie’s mother promised her some midsummer magic. This Midsummer's’ Day will Lizzie’s fortunes be changed?Amanda’s excited about her hen party in The Naughty Girls Hen Weekend. But the best laid plans never do run smoothly …In The Psychic 32-year-old lawyer Gina does nothing but work. Little does she realise that a surprise gift to see a psychic will change her life …The Goslathon is Stella Newman’s witty tribute to Hollywood heartthrob Ryan Gosling.Soldedad had thought she had finally tamed womaniser Lance in The Clause. But leopards can’t change their spots and when a mystery woman catches Lance’s eye on holiday, sparks fly …

Rescue Me: An uplifting free short story from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Patchwork Family

Curl up with Sunday Times bestseller Cathy Bramley and this joyful free short story about friendship, love and hope! Fearne Lovage is living a neat and tidy life. Sure, the inner circle of people she opens up to is small - but it's perfectly formed of people she loves. And when your heart is broken, feeling safe means everything. It's not a time for risks. But life has a surprise in store for Fearne - a hairy, scruffy, messy one. Soon Fearne finds herself saving the day, and getting rescued right back...You'll also meet the characters of Cathy's upcoming new four-part ebook serial, MY KIND OF HAPPY - which follows Fearne on her search for true happiness. All parts are available to pre-order now. Cathy Bramley is also the bestselling author of A Patchwork Family, A Match Made in Devon and The Lemon Tree Cafe.---------------------Praise for Cathy Bramley from some of your other favourite authors:'Delightful!' Katie Fforde'A page-turner of a story' Milly Johnson'A book full of warmth and kindness. I loved it' Sarah Morgan'Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns' Trisha Ashley'The perfect romantic tale, to warm your heart and make you smile' Ali McNamara

Christmas at the Chateau: (A Novella) (A French Escape, Book 2)

A Christmas she’ll remember forever…A heartwarming and gorgeous free short story to snuggle up with by the fire this ChristmasPoppy is looking forward to spending her first Christmas in France at her boyfriend, Leo’s, Château. And as the snow falls softly around the dramatic castle, Poppy can’t think of anything more magical.There are new traditions to discover, a cosy Christmas market to explore and best of all, a promise of a secret treasure hunt from gorgeous Leo. The clues take Poppy on a magical tour of the chateau, each place holding special memories for her and Leo – their first date, their first kiss, the list goes on.And at the end, hidden beneath the mistletoe, is one last surprise for Poppy.  A simple question that could change her life forever….

Shopaholic on Honeymoon (Short Story) (Shopaholic series)

As readers of the Shopaholic series will know, I have never described Becky and Luke's honeymoon, which happens after they get married in Shopaholic Ties the Knot. So as a free update for Shopaholic fans, I have decided to share with you one of the adventures of the newly-wed Becky and Luke. I hope you enjoy it! Love Sophie xThe new Mr and Mrs Brandon are on honeymoon, and Becky has big plans! They’ve got a whole year to explore Venice, learn yoga in India, sleep in little wooden huts in South America… maybe even see penguins in the Antarctic. And of course they’ll need to buy just a few essential souvenirs along the way (everyone needs a set of Murano glass goblets, after all).They’re not just tourists, they’re travellers. Becky is sure it is just the thing that Luke needs – time to unwind. He’ll come back a changed man… with all the good bits still intact of course.But it soon becomes clear that Luke has different plans entirely. Can Becky help him let go, or will this little disagreement threaten their whole honeymoon?

Stories To Make You Smile: The Reading Agency

A seriously entertaining collection of feelgood stories guaranteed to put the smile back on your face written especially by ten bestselling novelists:   Jenny Éclair Mark Watson Veronica Henry Eva Verde Richard Madeley Katie Fforde Dorothy Koomson Vaseem Khan Helen Lederer Rachel Hore From a hilarious race against time to a moment of unexpected eavesdropping, from righting wrongs in rural India to finding joy in unlikely places, these stories are all rich in wit and humour, guaranteed to lift your spirits and warm your heart.Stories to Make you Smile is a co-commission between The Reading Agency and Specsavers as part of World Book Night 2021.