Children's Mysteries & Detective Stories Books

The Disappearing Diva (Max the Detective Cat)

Max, chief mouse-hunter at the Theatre Royal, is up to his whiskers in his first mystery!Max is a pampered cat, used to the finer things in life, until a fun mouse chase goes badly wrong and he finds himself scruffy and alone and hiding out at the Theatre Royal.It's here that Max takes on his first case as a detective cat, when he notices that famous singer Madame Emerald is acting strangely. Why is her maid so terrified? And what kind of singer doesn't like to sing in public?Soon Max is trapped in a complicated web of crime, dashing round dancers' legs and over the rooftops of London in a race to catch a clever thief...

Katie Watson and the Painter's Plot (Katie Watson Mysteries in Time Book 1)

***DOWNLOAD THE AUDIOBOOK FREE! See inside for details*** Sherlock Holmes meets Shakespeare in this time-travel murder mystery with a twist of magic. Eleven-year-old Katie is sure her summer is doomed. She’s stuck spending it with Nan and Pop whose idea of adventure is touring old houses. But Otterly Manor isn't just any old house...When Katie discovers a secret chamber with a magical painting, she falls - literally - into a perilous adventure beyond her imagination.Whisked back in time to the reign of James I, Katie makes an ally in Princess Sophia who helps her navigate the strange new world of superstitions, prim manners and very uncomfortable clothes! But Sophia and Katie’s fun soon plummets into danger when murder strikes at Otterly Manor. With the murderer on the loose and Sophia’s family threatened, can Katie prove her detective skills before life at Otterly Manor is ruined forever? Or could it cost her the chance of ever getting back home? This action-packed journey highlights the power of bravery and sacrifice when motivated by friendship. Readers of historical adventures, mysteries and horse stories will find delicious surprises in store. “For readers with an imagination, this is a perfect page turning book to snuggle up with." - Tamsyn Alston, aged 12 Who is this book for? Readers of mysteries such as Robin Stevenson's Murder Most Unladylike series, Katherine Woodfine's The Sinclair Mysteries, Sophie Cleverly's Scarlet & Ivy series, and Enid Blyton's classic Famous Five adventures will get their detective thinking caps on... Readers of historical adventures by Eva Ibbotson and Emma Carroll will fall in love with the rich but ever-so-strange world of the past... Lovers of Epic Adventures by the likes of Abi Elphinstone and Katherine Rundell will be holding on to their seats... And Horse and equestrian enthusiasts should saddle up and get ready for this emotional ride!

The Mystery of Smugglers Cove (FREE MIDDLE GRADE MYSTERY ADVENTURE ACTION BOOK FOR KIDS AGES 7-15 CHILDREN) (The Mystery Series 1)

Book 1 of 14 in the bestselling standalone middle grade mystery series!★★★★★ Over 4,000 five star series reviews/ratings on Amazon and Goodreads!Are you up for a thrilling adventure?When twelve year old Joe and his two younger sisters visit Smugglers Cove for the summer holidays, they get caught up in a thrilling adventure that is beyond their wildest imagination.Follow the children as they flee down a river, are chased by ferocious dogs, locked up in an old manor, get lost at sea, expose a spy, and more!This adventure novel is set in 1950's Britain and will suit anyone who enjoys Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys or the Famous Five.Click "Buy Now" to read today!

Detective Trigger and the Ruby Collar: Book One

He’s on the trail of crooked cats. Can a doggy detective make this crime their last meow?Canine private eye Trigger wishes someone would throw him a bone. Without a case to solve, the quick-witted Chihuahua is stuck digging for scraps in a city run by criminal cats. So he thinks his luck has changed when a classy purebred hires him to find her priceless stolen collar.With his client insisting that an infamous master thief took the jewel-studded accessory, Trigger sniffs around for clues. But what he digs up is a once-in-a-lifetime chance to take down the city’s wicked feline kingpin…Can Trigger restore law and order, or is he barking up the wrong tree?Detective Trigger and the Ruby Collar is the first book in an entertaining middle-grade mystery series. If you and your child like clever animals, stories about private eyes, and canine heroes, then you’ll both love M.A. Owens’ hairy whodunit.Buy Detective Trigger and the Ruby Collar to put the cat back in the bag today!

DOTTY and the Calendar House Key: A Magical Fantasy Adventure Mystery for 8-12 year olds (The DOTTY Series Book 1)

Dotty Parsons knows the noises in the chimneys aren’t jackdaws nesting as the old cook says. After all, it’s December and who ever heard of a bird that whistles?But it is only when the feisty young Welsh girl finds her dead mother’s locket hidden up the playroom chimney that she really begins to suspect there’s more to the Calendar House than meets the eye. What Dotty doesn’t know is that the locket is the key to a long lost magic…and keeping it is going to be a whole lot more trouble than she had bargained for.Award-winning children’s magical fantasy fiction from #1 bestselling children's author, Emma Warner-Reed. “Secret Garden meets Diagon Alley. Fabulous!” A. Vere, Harrogate.Buy DOTTY and the Calendar House Key today and join Dotty as she is strives to unravel the mysteries of the Calendar House: a place filled with secrets, danger and a just a little bit of sweeps’ magicDOTTY and the Calendar House Key is the introductory book in the multi-award winning DOTTY Series.Since the release of DOTTY and the Calendar House Key, in 2015, The DOTTY Series has received significant acclaim. To date, accolades include both Gold and Silver awards from Literary Classics, together with their official seal of approval for all three books, honorable mentions at the Los Angeles, New York, Amsterdam and Paris Book Festival Awards, and three coveted five star Reader's Favorites reviews (so it's quite good :o) ).Look out for the fourth series book, DOTTY and the Mermaid’s Purse, due out this year!Here’s what people have to say about the series:"Author Emma Warner-Reed has penned a magnificent children's book with suspense that builds … highly recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval."Literary Classics Book Reviews"Dotty and the Calendar House Key has truly fired my daughter's imagination for the first time since Harry Potter. Beautifully written and exciting. The Secret Garden meets Diagon Alley. Fabulous!"Alexandra Vere, Harrogate"My son has just read the first [book] and thinks it's brilliant - high praise since he has very decided opinions about what he reads."P. Uglow, Harrogate"I really liked the [first] book. It was a bit scary when Dotty found herself in Uncle Winchester's private study. But most of the books I read are a bit scary so that was okay. I would read the other books in the series. Go Team Dotty!"Betty, age 7, Amazon"Enchanting, innocent and lovely with just the right amount of modern technology...a great read for a grown up 7 year old! She loved it... When is the next one coming out?"A. Little, Amazon

Angus Adams: the adventures of a free-range kid: Book1 of The Free-Range Kid Mysteries

As a free-range kid, Angus is allowed to do things other kids his age aren’t – like play in the street and hang out at the park without adults (shock, horror!) But when he’s accused of stealing an iPhone from school, Angus must use all of his brains, resilience, and courage to catch the real thief, clear his name, and outwit the seriously bad dudes hot on his tail!

The Green Stone (Book 1): Illustrated childrena??s book, age 7-12 (The adventures of Txano and Oscar)

Series of illustrated children’s books 7 y.o. or older.If you enjoy the first book, soon you can download the second one for FREE from the website of the series.Over 120 pages of entertainment, adventures, and mystery with color illustrations.Introduction:Hello! My name is Txano and my twin brother is called Oscar.Have you ever seen a meteorite crash to Earth? Well, we have!While on an excursion, at the beginning of summer, a huge ball of fire flew across the sky in front of our eyes and crashed into the forest!Yes, I know we should have run away in the opposite direction, but we didn’t and, instead, went searching for it.And we found it. It was a strange green stone. The mystery hiding behind its glow changed our lives forever. Why don’t you come with us to discover it?

Squirrel & Swan Precious Things: A charming mystery series set in New Zealand (S & S Investigations Book 1)

The Disappearance of Polly Dixon and the Persistent Petnapper"Funny and insightful."Best friends Paige and Sophie are putting their psychology skills to the test – they’ve opened an investigations agency.They’ll be a detective duo like no other!At least, that’s what Paige believes. No one else thinks they’ll make something of this new and unexpected venture. But why wouldn’t they be a success? Paige understands the mechanics of the mind and Sophie can read behaviour like a book. They’re a little light on investigative experience or, erm, practical life skills, but they make up for it with intelligence, tenacity, and diligence.After a couple of frustrating months without even a whiff of a client, they finally get a break. Someone is kidnapping pets, and the head of the Remuera Ladies Bridge Club wants them to find out who.As they start investigating with gusto, the possibility of another case appears. Nineteen-year-old Polly Dixon has disappeared.Can they prove everyone wrong and find the missing girl?"Loved this book from start to finish. It’s so funny, witty… good story line that keeps you guessing. The characters are written in such great detail that I could see them in my mind. I can’t wait for the next and hope there are many more to come!"S & S Investigations is a cozy mystery series set in New Zealand. With a bit of crime-fighting, humour, romance and drama, this series has it all. Get started on the Squirrel & Swan adventures today.Sign up to M. D. Archer’s mailing list - [email protected] - to hear about new releases (and special deals), first! You can also find her on twitter @mda_008.*Note, Squirrel & Swan: Precious Things is 55,000 words.

Pirates (The Magic Library Book 1)

A MAGICAL MYSTERY BOOK FOR CHILDREN AGED 9-12Myra and Kassy Cooper have discovered a magic library in their gran’s house. A wicked witch has cast a spell on the books and the characters inside are forgetting who they are. Myra and Kassy have to break the spell and save the characters before their stories are lost forever.Book 1 - PiratesA flying book leads Myra and Kassy to a beach where they find a message in a bottle. They soon discover a magic cave which takes them to a band of pirates. The pirates have been tricked by The Witch Of A Thousand Towers and are stranded on the island.Can Myra and Kassy help the pirates escape from the island?

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries: The Bandril Invasion

Billy Bandril is the TV sensation sweeping the nation! The hilarious antics of this anarchic puppet have kids and their parents waiting all week for another episode of mayhem.Fresh from her latest adventure, Lucy Wilson could use some time relaxing in front of the box. But Hobo isn’t too sure... There’s something sinister about Billy and his influence over the viewing public.When Lucy finds herself live on air with Billy, it’s up to Hobo to interrupt the broadcast, before the curtains close... forever!The Lucy Wilson Mysteries is a Lethbridge-Stewart spin-off adventure and featured licensed characters created for Doctor Who by Mervyn Haisman and Henry Lincoln.Fans of The Sarah Jane Adventures, Doctor Who and Lethbridge-Stewart will love this book series!