Fiction Horror Books

Cold Sweats and Vignettes

"The Steal" - A thief is hired by a collector to acquire an occult artifact....

"Crash" - A hard landing on an alien planet....

"Collision" - A world-changing incident at the Large Hadron Collider....

"The Fall" - A London gangster finds himself in a bad situation....

The Ghost Files: Volume 1

Cherry blossom lipstick: check Smokey eyes: check Skinny jeans: check Dead kid in the mirror: check For sixteen year old Mattie Hathaway, this is her normal everyday routine. She's been able to see ghosts since her mother tried to murder her when she was five years old. No way does she want anyone to know she can talk to spooks. Being a foster kid is hard enough without being labeled a freak too. Normally, she just ignores the ghosts and they go away. That is until she see's the ghost of her foster sister... Sally. Everyone thinks Sally's just another runaway, but Mattie knows the truth-she's dead. Murdered. Mattie feels like she has to help Sally, but she can't do it alone. Against her better judgment, she teams up with a young policeman, Officer Dan, and together they set out to discover the real truth behind Sally's disappearance. Only to find out she's dealing with a much bigger problem, a serial killer, and she may be the next victim... Will Mattie be able to find out the truth before the killer finds her?

Dead Dayz

What would you do if it were just you and your son during the zombie apocalypse?

This is exactly the situation David Johnson has to endure. It is four weeks into the apocalypse, and with his wife and daughter still missing, David is doing his best to keep it together and look after his seven-year-old son Harry. But as the days go by, this task is proving to be getting more difficult.

With many obstacles getting in David's way to protect his son, like avoiding thugs and trying to keep hydrated and fed, he has decisions to make in order for he and his son to survive long term.

***********************

A message from the author

Please read before downloading

In October 2014, I decided to write a little book inbetween the Snatchers series (a little tradition of mine) and began writing a story about a father and son that were trying to survive in the Zombie apocalypse. I called it Dead Dayz

In December 2014, I decided to ditch the first draft and concentrate on a new Snatchers book, Snatchers 5: The Dead Don't Yield. I didn't like the finished Dead Dayz, but some individuals who had read the book liked the father and son story, so I decided to incorporate it into the fifth Snatchers book.

The story was about David Johnson and his son, Harry, (Paul and Kyle Dickson), and I saved the best bits from the Dead Dayz book and put it into the Snatchers book.

The following you are about to read is the original Dead Dayz book. If you have read the Snatchers series, then this book still has many parts/chapters that you haven't read before, but the story will certainly be familiar. And if you haven't read the Snatchers series before, then everything I have talked about doesn't matter.

Dead Dayz was initially a standalone novel, before it was dissected for the Snatchers 5 book that was eventually released in February 2015, and it seemed a shame to leave it sitting on my hard drive in its original form.

Before You Sleep: Three Horrors

A trilogy of horror stories from the award-winning writer's first collection of short stories - SOME WILL NOT SLEEP - and an introduction to the nightmarish visions and ghastly spectres that have been disturbing the sleep of readers for years. In this book you'll find two ghost stories and a tale of ancestral demoniac horror.

In the big white house on the hill angels are said to appear . . .

When the children left the house, their toys remained . . .

A confused and vengeful presence occupies the home of a first-time buyer . . .

"The images just won't go away. You'll find yourself replaying scenes in your mind for days" - Fangoria

"Modern storytelling ... and old school terror. Very scary, highly recommended" - Jonathan Maberry, NYT bestselling author

"One of the most subtle and powerful writers of dark fiction - a unique voice" - Michael Marshall Smith, NYT Bestselling author

The Vampire Extinction: Greyson Undead (Book 1)

The Vampire Extinction: Greyson Undead is an exciting new paranormal series that will take fans of Twilight, The Mortal Instruments, The Vampire Diaries and A Shade of Vampire on a thrill ride unlike any other...

Greyson Black hated what he was: a monster. Forced to feed on the blood of humans, he'd been condemned to a life of darkness and murder to survive. Though others like him celebrated their fate, Greyson cursed it. Unlike them, he had a conscience, one that prohibited him from feeding on innocents. Instead, he chose to kill only those he deemed deserving. Those the world would be better off without.

Despising the vicious nature of his kind, Greyson lived a life of complete solitude. An empty life without anyone or anything to live for. But of that all changed the day he met Alex Lockhart.

The only human he'd ever encountered who didn't fall victim to the trap of his allure, Alex made him feel alive again for the first time in decades. She caused him to feel a dangerous emotion: hope.

A violent encounter threatened to tear at the thread of happiness Greyson clung to, and forced him to choose between letting Alex die and enslaving her to a life like his. A life spent in shadows. A life of bloodlust.

But would changing Alex even save her?

Dark forces lurked, stalking and conspiring against all vampires. Killing them systematically and intent upon exterminating every last one of them.

Will Greyson and Alex survive the hunt or will they fall to the vampire extinction? Find out in this riveting first installment of The Vampire Extinction series, Greyson Undead...

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Crossbite: A Sailor Ray and Blaze Monroe Supernatural Urban Fantasy Vampire Hunting Short

We both promised to avenge Mom's death, but there's something else we have to do first. It's part of the job when you're a hunter and it's hard turn a blind eye when people are suffering at the hands of the supernatural.

Vampires are picking off college kids and turning them to grow their ranks. So far, at least a half dozen are confirmed to be connected to the case.

We're going to stop them...the three of us. Dad, Blaze, and myself, and save who we can along that way.

Dad's worried about us, but I can handle myself. Blaze can, too. Even if it's risky dealing with vamps, he has to trust me because that's the only way we'll be ready when the time comes to face Mom's killer.

Resurrection: A Zombie Novel

From prize-winning author Michael J. Totten Welcome to a world turned to ashes. Annie Starling is missing her memory of the last eight weeks-the most devastating in history. It started in Russia and went global in a matter of days, the most virulent virus the world has ever known. It's stripping its victims of every last thing that makes them human. And that's just the beginning. The other survivors are no less dangerous than the infected. She meets Lane, who stops at nothing to assert power and control over everybody who's left; Kyle, who dreams of building a new world upon the ruins of the old; Hughes, who lost the ability to feel after burying his family; and Parker, who threatens to tear himself and his companions apart. And when her memories finally return, Annie discovers a terrifying secret that could change everything-but she can't tell a soul what it is. Praise for Resurrection "For fans of "World War Z" and "The Walking Dead," Michael J. Totten's "Resurrection" is the novel you've been waiting for." - Scott William Carter, author of "Ghost Detective" "In the tradition of "The Walking Dead," Michael J. Totten delivers a must-read with "Resurrection." Action packed with a wicked twist, this is one book I couldn't put down." -Annie Reed, author of "The Patient Z Files" ""Resurrection" dragged me in from the first page, with fast-paced, suspense-filled action and multi-layered and totally believable characters. Painting a vivid and gritty picture of a post-apocalyptic Northwest, Totten puts us into the minds and emotional struggles of a group of mismatched survivors forced to band together for protection even when they're on the verge or ripping each other apart. He also wrote one of the scariest passages I've read in any horror or suspense story...so be warned if you're afraid of the dark, or water, or both." - JC Andrijeski, author of "Rook"

Don't Flash Your Headlights

It was Halloween night and Jimmy was partying with a gang that he was excited about joining called the Demon Nights gang. There was only one thing that would prove he was worthy of being a part of the Demon Nights gang and Darren who was head of the gang would tell him.

"Jimmy you know it's not an easy thing joining our gang," said Darren.

"I know, but I want to be somebody and I'm not afraid of any challenge, so come on tell me what it is you want me to do?" asked Jimmy.

"Ok, but there is no backing out once I tell you and if you try to back out the only thing you'll be getting is a bullet in the back," explained Darren.

"Don't worry I'm up for anything," replied Jimmy.

"Here's what I want you to do. Follow me outside," explained Darren.

Jimmy and Darrin went outside to Darren's back yard.

"See that car over there," said Darren.

"Yes! I see it," replied Jimmy.

"Get inside and let me know what you think?" asked Darren.

Jimmy opened the driver's side door and stepped in and said "Wow! This is a real beauty," exclaimed Jimmy. Darren put his hand on the top off the car and bent over and said "This is where you come in.

The History of Things to Come: A Supernatural Thriller: Volume 1 (The Dark Horizon Trilogy)

THE MIND OF A GENIUS CAN HOLD THE DARKEST OF SECRETS"A razor-sharp thriller" A Bosnian gangster is gunned down in a packed London restaurant. In his possession is a notebook once belonging to Isaac Newton. This is just the latest in a series of shocking crimes connected to objects once belonging to the famous scientist. The police are stumped and the pressure for an arrest is mounting. Enter Vincent Blake, London's leading stolen-art investigator. Blake sets out to solve the case, a series of devastating events threaten to destroy everything he holds dear. Broken but undeterred, he comes upon a shocking discovery: within the coded pages of a mysterious crimson book, annotated in Newton's own handwriting, is an explosive revelation. Possessing this secret knowledge turns Blake into a marked man. Caught in the crosshairs of two sadistic hitmen, Blake is propelled into a breathtaking race through London and its dark historical secrets. With time running out, will Blake solve Newton's deadly puzzle before the world is plunged into a catastrophe of biblical proportions? Praise for The History of Things to Come ...'An endlessly twisting, multi-layered supernatural thriller.'...'Intelligent and fascinating.'...'You simply can't put this book down.' About the Author The History of Things to Come is the first book in the Dark Horizon trilogy by thriller writer Duncan Simpson.For more information and updates on new releases, join his Reader's Group. Just copy and paste this link into your browser: http: //duncansimpsonauthor.comFind out more about the world of Duncan Simpson by visiting: Website & Blog: http: //www.duncansimpsonauthor.comTwitter: http: //twitter.com/dsimpsonauthorFacebook: http: //www.facebook.com/duncansimpsonauthor If you love multi-layered crime thrillers, then buy The History of Things to Come now. Interview with the Author QU: So, what makes the Dark Horizon series special? AN: My mission is to write action led thrillers that hit hard, right from the go.